Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

A forum for discussing applications and implementations of the MegaShift transmission controller code for the GPIO from B&G. This can control up to 8-speeds and 6 shift solenoids (plus a 16x9 table for controlling a PWM line pressure valve). It has manual and fully automatic modes (16x9 load x speed table), with under and over rev-limit protection, and full data logging of all inputs and outputs (among many other abilities). A TransStim to test your completed board is also available.
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by Addicted »

Bonjour Guillaume,

My matrix is an Adafruit mini 8x8 matrix (0.8" tall) controlled by a Arduino Pro Mini (manufactured by Sparkfun) I intend to put up a post detailing it when I get the shifter working. I have already written the code and am happy to share it. BTW, the matrix is dimmable in 1/16th steps. It would be easy to take a feed from the light cicuit into the Arduino to dim the matrix when you turn the lights on. Additionally if your car has dimmable instrument lighting you could take a feed from that to dim the matrix.. that would be cool.

Lance,

I've flashed your supplied code and tried it. I have disconnected everything at the 2 x 25 header except for the 4 inputs, I was trying to see if one of the other circuits was messing things up..

I put the lever in Park, started logging, then shifted to Reverse, then Neutral, then Drive then 3 and finally 2. (Drive is set as 1)

LED patterns are perfect.. according to log..
Attachments
2014-07-09_22.13.09.msl
(120.1 KiB) Downloaded 665 times
CAN1_July.msq
(45.2 KiB) Downloaded 643 times
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by Bernard Fife »

Addicted,

As Guillaume mentioned above, the LEDs follow the currently selected gear (cGear in the datalog), NOT the manual gear lever position (mGear). I could easily make that an option in the code, though.

As well, disconnecting all the other circuits will likely mean the controller will never command the trans to shift, so that doesn't help a lot.

The code you tried polls the LEDs' physical outputs to see what state they are in (i.e. it makes no assumption about anything else the code does), so I am inclined to believe the datalog. Do the LED outputs look correct in Reverse with the newest code? Is Reverse still the only problem?

Exactly which pins on the header are you checking for each of LED1 through LED4? PM4 for LED1, PB4 for LED4, etc.? This is important. Is is also important to check over the 25x2 header, circuits and connections to make sure they are working as they should.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by Addicted »

Hello Lance,

Thanks for sticking wih me on this. The time differences between us really draws out this conversation :)

The LED outputs in the datalog are correct. The solenoid outputs also appear to be correct at first glance! ;)

My LEDs are connected thus:

LED1 - GPO1 - PM4
LED2 - GPO2 - PM3
LED3 - GPO3 - PM5
LED4 - GPO4 - PB4

Hopefully I'll get another hour on it tonight and report back..
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by Addicted »

OK, the LEDs appear to be correct at the CPU/software.. so now thats down to me.

One problem remains..

Manual gear..

When in 1 it displays 1

When in 2 it displays 2

but...

When in 3 it display 1

Looking at my datalog, with one graph showing CAN1.in1adc, CAN1.in2adc, CAN1.in3adc & CAN1.swD and another showing CAN1.mgear at 167s the inputs change state from high, low, high, high to high, low, high, low.. but CAN1.mgear stays at 1 (high, low, high, low should be 3)

at 170s, when I shift the lever from 3 to 2, it then changes to high, high, high, low and then the CAN1.mgear changes to 2 correctly
gui67
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Strasbourg, France

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by gui67 »

Addicted wrote:Bonjour Guillaume,

My matrix is an Adafruit mini 8x8 matrix (0.8" tall) controlled by a Arduino Pro Mini (manufactured by Sparkfun) I intend to put up a post detailing it when I get the shifter working. I have already written the code and am happy to share it. BTW, the matrix is dimmable in 1/16th steps. It would be easy to take a feed from the light cicuit into the Arduino to dim the matrix when you turn the lights on. Additionally if your car has dimmable instrument lighting you could take a feed from that to dim the matrix.. that would be cool.
Thanks for your answer Addicted,
I had a quick look at the product you described: it seems that I would not need to run the 7 wires: LED 1, 2, 3, 4, 12V, ground and TC signal to the led but only 4 wires. and the possibility to write the letters like P, N and R...
How did you integrate it in the car, I really would like to see pictures and more details if you have time once you sorted your problems.

Guillaume
gui67
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Strasbourg, France

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by gui67 »

Hello Addicted,
I looked quicly at your log.
It seems that the engine was not running.
I know for my transmission (GM 4L80), it uses pressure switches to sense the position of the lever (manual gear) So if the engine is not turning, I have no pressure in the transmission and all the switches are off, even if I move the lever. Is it possible that it is the same for you(it needs pressure to activate the switches?)

I think in Tunerstudio, you can see the input 1, 2,3 and 4: do they match what you expect when you move the lever in the different positions? Compared to the manufacturer specs?
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by Addicted »

Yes everything is as expected, except the problem that with the lever in 3 the CPU reports 1

As per Lances instructions I'm not going to start the engine until I have the lever selection correct
gui67
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Strasbourg, France

Re: Struggling to get LED output to match what I set

Post by gui67 »

When I look at the msq and what you describe, it looks like the software does not take into acount the 4th input:
the only difference between 1st and 3rd is the 4th input once on low and once on HIGH.
Otherwise, all other gears have differences between the 3 first inputs. If you look at 1 and 3, both are High, low, High.
I would try to look at problem on GPI1, check if the voltage arrives and if the circuit is correct.
Or it might be soft related. (I only have 3 inputs, never tested 4 inputs)
Post Reply