GM 4T40-E

A forum for discussing applications and implementations of the MegaShift transmission controller code for the GPIO from B&G. This can control up to 8-speeds and 6 shift solenoids (plus a 16x9 table for controlling a PWM line pressure valve). It has manual and fully automatic modes (16x9 load x speed table), with under and over rev-limit protection, and full data logging of all inputs and outputs (among many other abilities). A TransStim to test your completed board is also available.
miker33

GM 4T40-E

Post by miker33 »

Hi All,

I'm new to auto transmissions but am currently in the process of converting a twin engine car which i've built from manual transmissions to automatic transmissions due to the problems trying to shift 2 manual boxes consistently and quickly.

The only transmission that I have been able to get into the small space is the GM 4T40-E (and this has been hard to find a source of in the UK).

I believe that this transmission is similar to the GM L series in function and was wondering if there had been any plans to get this transmission added to the supported list.

Although i'm new to auto transmissions I am reasonably skilled with electronics and mechanical design so hopefully will be able to pick up the knowledge as I go (the rear tranny should be physically installed in a few weeks).

Cheers,
Mike
Bernard Fife

Re: GM 4T40-E

Post by Bernard Fife »

Mike,

In general, we don't add transmissions to the supported list, users do.

How it works is that a user (or users) does the homework to see if the trans can be controlled using the current functions incorporated into the MShift code. That requires looking through our documentation here: http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/mshift/index.html and comparing these functions to the transmission's 'needs' (usually from a factory service manual, google, etc.).