Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

A forum for discussing applications and implementations of the MegaShift transmission controller code for the GPIO from B&G. This can control up to 8-speeds and 6 shift solenoids (plus a 16x9 table for controlling a PWM line pressure valve). It has manual and fully automatic modes (16x9 load x speed table), with under and over rev-limit protection, and full data logging of all inputs and outputs (among many other abilities). A TransStim to test your completed board is also available.
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Addicted »

Hi Lance,

That didn't work at all. I was able to reverse out of my garage and out onto the road, only then discovering that I had no forward gears! The cGear gauge in TS just turns red when I engage drive. Had to push the car back into garage.

Luckily the datalogger was running so I'll get the log to you later.

:(
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Oops, sorry about that! When you have a log it might help, in the meantime we'll revert to the previous version.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Addicted,

Here is code with some (but not all) of the most recent changes backed-out. It should work better than the last code (I am able to shift from reverse to forward gears on my bench, at least).
Monitor_5099zv.abs.s19
(83.09 KiB) Downloaded 687 times
GPIO_MShift_5099.ini
(278.02 KiB) Downloaded 690 times
You might want to try shifting through all the gears before moving, just in case, though.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Addicted »

Datalog attached. Hopefully its pretty self explanatory...cGear goes straight to 6!
Attachments
2015-03-25_07.18.14.msl
(708.81 KiB) Downloaded 646 times
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Addicted,

Which code is this datalog with? The one I just posted (5.099zv) or the one that wouldn't come out of reverse (5.099ziv)? If it's the most recent one, then I need to back out a few more changes!

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Addicted »

That's me reversing out into the road this morning, engaging drive, blipping the throttle in sixth, pushing it off the road then reversing into my garage.

I've been out tonight with the latest code and its OK.. Although it still downshifts under hyst
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Addicted,

Okay, thanks for that. Obviously I need to rethink the hysteresis thing, and I will get to work on that.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Addicted
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am
Location: Winchester, England

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Addicted »

I thinks whats in our favour is that the issue is very consistant. The run I did last night on the very latest code it shifted back to third every time it went to fourth regardless of the different conditions. ie. high load, low load.. which sort of suggests its not a problem with my shift table. It also always shifts back to third after the same time period ~1 second, then holds third for quite a while and shifts back to fourth.. then its usually fine..

It has done it on the 2-3 shift, but its very very rare.. it certainly hasn't done it recently

I'm sure you solve it soon :D :D
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Addicted,

That's an excellent description of the issue, and makes me think of a coupe of possibilities that I hadn't thought of before. Hopefully I will have some fixed code for you soon.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Trigger hysteresis using avload instead of load?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Martin,

Something may have finally clicked in my thinking (but I know I have said that so often it has lost all meaning!). The attached code tests a theory that explains what is going on better than those hypotheses I had previously.
Monitor_5099zvi.abs.s19
(83.09 KiB) Downloaded 705 times
GPIO_MShift_5099.ini
(278.02 KiB) Downloaded 681 times
I'll explain the change after you test it (if you are willing to test, of course), as there's no sense going into a long explanation if it isn't the problem.

If this code doesn't help, could you try a little experiment for me? Could you try using solely TPS for load? This should be under 'General Settings -> Throttle and Load Factors ->MAP vrs TPS for LOAD' (slide it all the way to the left). That might affect the 3-4-3-4 behavior, and it would be very instructive for us.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Post Reply