Base GPIO code to work from?

A forum for discussing the applications and implementations of the DIY general code template for the GPIO and its 25 user inputs and outputs (+ serial & CAN). The code is 99% complete, the user just has to add their own conditional I/O logic and compile (with a free special Edition of CodeWarrior).
Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife » Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:19 am

svpmx83,

Possibly. PM me and we can probably work something out.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

ruirito
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:37 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by ruirito » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:20 pm

Hello,

I'm just starting to assemble and tune my GPIO.
My GPIO is to read and control some things in the car and not to control any gearbox. For a start I'm trying to read the engine's oil pressure. I already built the circuit at GPI3. I edited the template that is http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/iocode/code.htm and download the s19 file (verification ok) but when I start the TunerStudio I'm not able to connect with GPIO. Then I tried to download and use the newer MShift code and my GPIO works fine (and Can ok too).

So what I want to ask is if there is available a very simple template GPIO project and ini file that works with the existing MS2-extra, TunerStudio and with can fully working so I could do some datalogging of my engine's oil pressure with MS2-Extra, while running the car along the track... 8-)

Thanks,

Rui Rito

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife » Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:43 pm

Rui,

You can look at the 1.100 code for a functional example.

The best bet is to load the code and check the comms after every stage of code modification. Then you can pin-point exactly where things have gone wrong. I would also make daily backups of the source code too - and date them so you can roll-back as necessary.

I would also check the serial comms with a cable direct to the GPIO board. Until that works, there isn't much point trying the CAN comms because there are bigger problems. If you haven't messed with the serial/CAN code, then the most likely problem is that the INI doesn't align with the inpram/in2ram/outpc structures, and you should check these very, very carefully.

I am working on 'official' datalogging code for the GPIO that will take inputs from several temperature, pressure and speed sensors, I hope to release some test code in the next month or so.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

ruirito
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:37 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by ruirito » Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:35 pm

Thanks Lance... Code already running and reading engine oil pressure. I also edited the .ini file and ok.
Next step is to read the EGT. But the problem is that I don't know were to find silver solder and what kind of connector should I use to plug and unplug the EGT sensors. Can you give some advise?

Rui Rito

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife » Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:22 pm

Rui,

You might want to check this thread for thermocouple/EGT wiring: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=298

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

SebastianS
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:30 am

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by SebastianS » Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:56 am

Hello everyone.

Sorry for digging this up, but I'm having trouble getting a connection to the GPIO board.
Most of the info you'll probably need I have already posted on the MSExtra forums where at least two people pointed me here.

My setup:
I'm having a MS3 with firmware 1.2.1, TunerStudio BETA 2.2.11 and a blank GPIO board to which I soldered the circuitries for all 4 VR speed sensors and the EGT1 Sensor.

Loading firmware to the GPIO works just fine and all the voltages I'm measuring are within reasonable limits, however when trying a CAN pass through connection with my MS3, I'm unable to get a connection or when I do, I'm getting lots and lots of warnings and errors whereafter TS switches to offline mode.

For the GPIO's firmware, I used the template1.000 which was modified a little by jsmcortina on the MSExtra forums and for the INI file I modified the template's one with this.

Lastly, James came up with this:
I tested and it seems that for whatever reason that code isn't responding to passthrough requests from the MS3 on page 0x0e and 0e0f. As Jean said, it is probably worth asking to msgio.com to see if it has been used recently and the correct process to connect to it with passthrough.

James
Has anyone met a similar problem or has an idea of how to resolve this issue?

-Sebastian

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife » Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:44 am

Sebastian,

The template code was written long before the CAN pass-through was functional. So it doesn't incorporate any of the changes made when the serial/CAN comms code was altered to make the pass-through functional and robust as the MShift code was develpoed. I need to make a new template code that incorporates these changes, and will do that when I get a chance.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

SebastianS
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:30 am

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by SebastianS » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:27 am

Hm, too bad...

Could I just copy the corresponding code froum your MShift project or are there any restrictions?

Thanks for the help
Sebastian

SebastianS
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:30 am

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by SebastianS » Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:11 am

Lance,

I received your private message, but as a newly registered user, I seem to be unable to respond to it until I've written 3 posts. Why 3, by the way? wouldn't 1 be enough to prevent spamming?
Anyway, I'll reply as soon as I'm able to.

-Sebastian

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife » Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:51 pm

Sebastien,

I have put a new version 1.100 Template code project for Codewarrior here:
http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/iocode/code.htm

This code uses the latest serial and CAN comms code used in MShift and newer B&G codes. The project compiles, runs, and communicates fine. The CAN pass-through works as it should (tested with 2.920 code). The INI for TunerStudio is verified to work.

You can either incorporate your code changes into this project (that's what I would do), or copy the relevant CAN/serial changes to your existing project (being careful to put the code segments into the appropriate memory locations using the #pragmas).

If you use the existing project, the first thing to do is to load the S19 in the /BIN/ folder. Set up a project in TS. Load and run the code to verify that the CAN comms are working (there are gauges for CAN Receive and Transmit - Tx should be twice Rx when the GPIO is grabbing the outpc data from the engine ECU).

Then compile the default project code without any changes. Load the resulting S19 file to the controller and test the serial and CAN comms. If that doesn't work, you need to figure out why it doesn't compile properly on your computer (since we know it works fine here).

If there are problems with the Codewarrior or TunerStudio setup, sort those out before editing the source code. Then go ahead and make all the changes you want!

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

Post Reply