Gpio works to flash initial firmware and then nothing

This forum is for general questions you have on assembling and troubleshooting your GPIO board. You can purchase a GPIO board at DIYAutoTune now!
Post Reply
magnamx-5m
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:59 am

Gpio works to flash initial firmware and then nothing

Post by magnamx-5m » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:29 am

How do i check to make sure i haven't shorted my gpio processor etc? I had previusly assembled and bench tested the unit and everything seemed fine the bootlaoder worked and i could interact with it directly via tuner studio. But since i have installed the unit in my vehicle and wired it all up i have not been able to communicate with it via the DB9 or the can bus connection? If anyone could point me into the right direction as far as things to check that would help tremendously, I have a good clean 12V+ and grounds hooked up.

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Gpio works to flash initial firmware and then nothing

Post by Bernard Fife » Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:56 am

m-5m,

If it worked on the bench, then the unit works. If it then doesn't work in the vehicle, it must be the vehicle wiring that is causing the issue (as you suspect). Unfortunately, because we don't have that wiring in front of us, it's very hard for us to suggest what might be wrong.

I suppose if this was mine, I would first check:
- the power pin has 12V on it, and the pin is not pushed out of place in the wiring harness sides of the connector.
- the ground pins have less than 1 Ohm resistance to the engine block, and the pins are not pushed out of place in the wiring harness sides of the connector.
- the bootloader pin is not grounded - accidentally through a short, or through a wiring mistake.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

magnamx-5m
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:59 am

Re: Gpio works to flash initial firmware and then nothing

Post by magnamx-5m » Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:11 pm

I had a few jumpers work loose inside the ms on the 24*2 baord i reinstalled them and then i was able to communicate with the serial com. After checking all my settings it looks like i tried to laod a corrupted file so now i'm i the process of making sure that everything is set accordingly thanks very much lance. I was about to take a sledgehammer to this thing im not an electronics guru by far.

Bernard Fife
Posts: 1696
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Gpio works to flash initial firmware and then nothing

Post by Bernard Fife » Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:18 am

magnamx-5m,

Great, I'm glad it's working. We were all beginners at electronics at one time - and not so long ago for me! The more problems you encounter and solve, the more you will learn and become well on the way to being an expert.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

Post Reply