Base GPIO code to work from?

A forum for discussing the applications and implementations of the DIY general code template for the GPIO and its 25 user inputs and outputs (+ serial & CAN). The code is 99% complete, the user just has to add their own conditional I/O logic and compile (with a free special Edition of CodeWarrior).
ol boy

Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by ol boy »

I've just downloaded the codewarrior from freescale and have been playing with it for the past two hours. I'm a noob to this code writing stuff and have no idea where to start. I'll I'm wanting to do is have extra data logable inputs and control a hand full of programed outputs and maybe tie an output off of coolant, tps/map arrangment.

Thanks Ryan
Bernard Fife

Re: Base GPIO code to work from?

Post by Bernard Fife »

Ryan,

You might grab the early trans code project here: http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/mshift/GP ... E_Proj.zip The main source code with the hints is here: http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/mshift/4L60E_main.c It is for CW 4.6 (but will likely work for other versions).

There is an outline of the code flow and functions here: http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/mshift/4L60Ecode.html

It contains a ton of hints (and working examples) of how to write code for the HCS12 processor.

Lance.
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
ol boy

Post by ol boy »

Sweet, Thanks That helps out a bunch. The outline helps show what to look for as thumbing through the main code.
Bernard Fife

Post by Bernard Fife »

With the release of the production GPIO boards now imminent, I have put a Codewarrior 'template' project (and associated INI for the tuning software) here:

http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/iocode/code.htm

This project has:
- serial and CAN comms infrastructure already in place,