GPIO used for its basic functions

A forum for discussing the applications and implementations of the DIY general code template for the GPIO and its 25 user inputs and outputs (+ serial & CAN). The code is 99% complete, the user just has to add their own conditional I/O logic and compile (with a free special Edition of CodeWarrior).
Tzepesh

GPIO used for its basic functions

Post by Tzepesh »

Hello everybody!
I intend to expand the input/output capabilities of my MS2Extra using the GPIO. At the beginning, I will use just the inputs for the four EGT, one VR input for vehicle speed (mine is hall, I believe that the VR circuit can be used as-is) and several ADCs for reading some resistor type sensors on the engine.
Can I use directly the template for this purpose, without any modification? I am an electronics engineer, but with very little (almost 0) experience programming microcontrollers. What puzzles me is that I downloaded the template project for GPIO and there are lots of comments regarding MSShift, which I am not interested at all... I am trying to understand the code, but it will take me a long time to be able to modify anything.
The outputs are not a point of interest at this time, but for sure in the future I will use them. That will be for future discussions, when I might undestand how to deal with them. The examples in code are very clear, I just have to read some more.
Bernard Fife

Re: GPIO used for its basic functions

Post by Bernard Fife »

Tzepesh,

The template code was created from the MShift code (especially the latest version with the CANbus pass-through), and we haven't rewritten all the comments. You can ignore the references to MShift wherever they don't make sense.